Tuesday, October 28, 2008

CD of the Day - "Jazzanova: Of All The Things"

CD of the Day
Jazzanova: "Of All The Things" (Sonar Kollektiv) 2008

Released in Super Jewel Box package, the new high-budget Jazzanova production features singers like Jose James (not to be missed with LA-based songstress Josie James), Paul Randolph and Leon Ware, who collaborated with Quincy Jones in such albums as "Body Heat".
Jazzanova & Leon Ware reprise "Rockin' You Eternally", one of the songs that Ware co-wrote with Marcos Valle in the late 70s/early 80s, and the title track of Ware's 1981 LP for Elektra. They basically reproduce the original Gene Page orchestration, to the point that the track credits says: "Strings re-arranged by Stefan Leisering; Horns re-arranged by S. Leisering & Sebastian Studnitzky." However, Mr. Page is not credited...
It seems one of these recordings done by "email." Ware did his vocals in Marina del Rey (California), the voice of Dwele (who sings with him) was added in Amsterdam. Everything else was recorded in Berlin.
The Brazilian fusion group Azymuth appears on the album, backing singer/guitarist Pedro Martins on a 2-minute track, "Gafieira".

No comments: