Saturday, October 1, 2011

Box Set of the Month - "Eumir Deodato: Original Album Classics"

Box Set of the Month
Deodato: "Original Album Classics" (CTI/Sony) 2011

3-CD box set released on September 23, 2011
Original albums produced by Creed Taylor & engineered by Rudy Van Gelder
Recorded in 1972 & 1973
Front Cover Photo: Alen MacWeeney
Original Album Photos: Pete Turner (front covers of "Prelude" and "In Concert") and Alen MacWeeney (front cover of "Deodato 2"), Duane Michals (liner photos of "Prelude" and "Deodato 2"), Dean Brown and Frederico Mendes (back cover photos of "In Concert")
Original Album Designs: Bob Ciano

Featuring: Eumir Deodato, Ron Carter, Stanley Clarke, John Giulino, Billy Cobham, Rick Marotta, Ray Barretto, Airto Moreira, Jay Berliner, John Tropea, Rubens Bassini, Gilmore Degap, Hubert Laws, Marvin Stamm, Bill Watrous, Burt Collins, Joe Shepley, Garnett Brown, Joe Temperley et al.

Also includes three bonus tracks not available in the original LP issue of "Deodato 2" ("Venus," "Latin Flute" and a demo studio version of Steely Dan's "Do It Again," later re-recorded on his MCA debut in 1974, "Whirldwinds") and two tracks ("Paraná" and "Branches - O Galho da Roseira") on which Deodato doesn't appears; both performed live by Airto's band @ the Felt Forum of the Madison Square Garden, and included by Creed Taylor on the "Deodato/Airto In Concert" album.

Track listing
CD 1 - "Prelude"
1. Also Sprach Zarathustra (Theme from 2001: A Space Odyssey)
2. Spirit of Summer
3. Carly and Carole
4. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
5. Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
6. September 13

CD 2 - "Deodato 2"
1. Super Strut
2. Rhapsody in Blue
3. Nights in White Satin
4. Pavane for a Dead Princess
5. Skyscrapers
6. Latin Flute
7. Venus
8. Do It Again

CD 3 - "Deodato/Airto In Concert"
1. Do It Again
2. Spirit of Summer
3. Parana
4. Tropea (Whirlwinds)
5. Branches (O Galho da Roseira)
6. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
7. Skyscrapers

No comments: