Monday, September 14, 2009

Mass. Broadcasters Hall of Fame Event this Wednesday @ Noon

A Who’s Who of Boston Television and Radio Will Be Honored This Wednesday, September 16
Mass. Broadcasters Hall of Fame will induct:

Fred Cusick, The Voice of Boston Bruins Hockey
Bill Hahn, TV pioneer, host, interviewer and innovator
Sonya Hamlin, the nation’s first nightly news cultural reporter and women’s movement trailblazer
John Henning, one of the most respected, distinguished TV news journalists in New England [WBZ4]
Charles Laquidara, legendary rock radio deejay and activist from WBCN
Don Latulippe, prominent public affairs director, news director and host
Dave Maynard, 48-year WBZ radio and TV personality
Allan Roberts, radio manager and multi-station CEO
Emily Rooney, host, newswoman and executive editor of WGBH TV’s Greater Boston
Gil Santos; esteemed radio voice of the N.E. Patriots and morning sports anchor on WBZ radio
Al Tanger, renowned broadcast consultant and radio station owner
Len Zola, revered classical, jazz and elevator music host
Deceased Inductees Include: [family members will accept awards]

Don Gillis, legendary sportscaster
Curt Gowdy, legendary sportscaster
Connie Jameson, TV personality
Arch MacDonald, WBZ-TV's first news anchor, respected newsman
Ed McDonnell [Major Mudd], the hilarious Major Mudd Show host
Marjorie Mills, radio personality, Boston Herald columnist and socialite
Norm Nathan, one of the great personalties of Boston radio for more than 50 years
Bill McGrath, former General Manager and Executive Vice President of radio station WHDH AM ********
2009 Gala Luncheon and Awards Event
Dedham Hilton, 25 Allied Drive, Dedham, MA 02026; hotel phone: 781-329-7900
Wednesday, September 16, 2009, beginning at noon


11:00 am-12 PM interview & photo opportunities with awardees, Fountain Blue Grille Room floor 1, Dedham Hilton

11:30 am cocktail/social time in lobby outside of Fairbanks Ballroom

12:00 noon doors open, Fairbanks Ballroom, floor 1, Dedham Hilton, event begins

12:15 pm Host Jordan Rich [of WBZ Radio] welcomes sellout crowd

12:16 pm Art Singer, President of Mass. Broadcasters Hall of Fame welcomes everyone

Art Singer asks various board members to stand

12:18 pm Jordan Rich returns; introduces special guests in the crowd such as:

David Mugar, Janet Jeghelian, Jared Bowen and others!

12:19 pm Someone from the Mass. Broadcasters Association welcomes everyone
Art Singer presents Al Sprague Certificate to MBA President

12:23 pm Jordan mentions past inductees in the audience: Frank Avruch, Rex Trailer, Joyce Kulhawik, Harold Segal

12:24 pm Dick Cronin, Exec. Director of College Communications from Massasoit Community College speaks [Massasoit Community College is the host for the Hall of Fame Exhibit]

12:26 pm Jordan Rich mentions any other special guests and shows video [2:20] of deceased inductees

12:29 pm Deceased inductee representatives receive awards and get 2 minutes to speak

12:40 pm Lunch continues

12:55 pm Inductees are invited to stage area

1:00 pm Main Award Ceremony:

Dick Flavin presents awards to Gil Santos, Fred Cusick and Alan Roberts

Barbara Brilliant presents awards to Sonya Hamlin, Al Tanger and Len Zola

Candy O’Terry presents awards to Emily Rooney, Dave Maynard and Bill Hahn

Ron Della Chiesa presents awards to Don Latulippe, John Henning & Charles Laquidara

2:00 pm End of event! Jordan Rich says goodbye, thanks, etc. . . .

No comments: