Saturday, August 25, 2007

"Brazilian Horizons" reviewed

Review about the "Brazilian Horizons" album (produced by Arnaldo DeSouteiro for Milestone Records), originally published on the ConnectBrazil website (see link above):

"Whether you're just beginning to explore the world of Brazilian music or a seasoned collector, compilations are a true godsend. They provide opportunities to experience a wide variety of songs and performers without a great deal of risk. Brazilian Horizons scores high on our list by virtue of its stellar collection of material and artists.

Brazilian Horizons gives us the opportunity to view the world of Brazilian song through the eyes and ears of one of one of Brazil's most respected music critics, producer Arnaldo DeSouteiro, who has handpicked each of these 15 songs for their unique contribution and creativity.

The 70's and 80's were a richly rewarding period for Brazilian jazz in the US, and the music's diversity is reflected here with tracks from percussionist Airto with his wife Flora Purim, Brazilian trombonist Raul de Sousa, and trumpeter Claudio Roditi. Guitar legends Jim Hall and Joe Pass are each featured, as are saxophonist Cannonball Adderley and mallet whiz Cal Tjader. Sarah Vaughan makes two appearances: one with Antonio Carlos Jobim and another with Milton Nascimento.

This album also captures special moments from Jose Roberto Betrami and his former group Azymuth, jazz stylist Mark Murphy and award winning guitarist Luiz Bonfá. Not to be missed is Ella Fitzgerald's scatty rendering of Jobim's "The Song of the Jet." Brazilian Horizons showcases the diverse nature of Brazilian song with a jazzy perspective. The liner notes are very informative and insightful, allowing for your own personal exploration of this exciting music".

01. Song Of The Jet - Ella Fitzgerald
02. Canto De Ossanha - Raul De Souza
03. Vera Cruz - Jim Hall featuring Airto Moriera
04. Chovendo Na Roseira - Dom Um Romão
05. Bahia - Flora Purim
06. Corcovado - Joe Pass and Paulinho Da Costa
07. Travessia – Sarah Vaughan featuring Milton Nascimento
08. Rio Acima - Luiz Bonfá
09. Love Dance - Mark Murphy
10. Nascente - Cannonball Adderley
11. Amazonas - Cal Tjader featuring Egberto Gismonti
12. Triste - Sarah Vaughan featuring Antonio Carlos Jobim
13. Dreams Are Real (Tempos Atras) - José Roberto Bertrami
14. Feel Good - Claudio Roditi
15. All That Carnival – Azymuth

Song of the Jet (Samba Do Avião) (mp3) Vera Cruz (Empty Faces) (mp3) Travessia (Bridges) (mp3) Amazonas (mp3) Triste (mp3)

Compilation producer and liner notes: Arnaldo DeSouteiro.

Total Time: 70:72

No comments: