Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Vinyl Reissue of the Month - "Miles Davis: Live Evil"

Vinyl Reissue of the Month
Miles Davis: "Live Evil" (Columbia/Music On Vinyl MOVLP 1483, 2-LP set) 1971/2016

***** (musical performance)
**** (sonic quality)

Great reissue of one of Miles' iconic fusion albums from the early 70s, mixing studio and live recordings. There are three tracks written by Brazilian genius Hermeto Pascoal, which were wrongly credited to Miles in the original LP pressing: "Little Church," "Nem Um Talvez" and "Selim," the latter being actually an alternate take of "Nem Um Talvez." Airto, who introduced Hermeto to Miles, shines in most of the tracks, along with John McLaughlin, Michael Henderson, Keith Jarrett, Jack DeJohnette and many others.

Gatefold 180-gram audiophile vinyl 2xLP
Release Date: March 18, 2016
Produced by Teo Macero
Engineers: Russ Payne & Stan Tonkel
Illustration: Abdul Mati Klarwein (back cover image inspired on Hermeto Pascoal)
Liner Photo of Miles Davis: Don Hunstein

Featuring: Miles Davis (trumpet), Hermeto Pascoal (voice, whistle, keyboards, electric piano), Chick Corea, Keith Jarrett & Joe Zawinul (keyboards), Ron Carter, Michael Henderson & Dave Holland (bass), Jack DeJohnette & Billy Cobham (drums), Airto Moreira (percussion, cuica, berimbau), John McLaughlin (electric guitar), Gary Bartz, Steve Grossman & Wayne Shorter (sax), Khalil Balakrishna (sitar)

No comments: