Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Hubert Laws' "In The Beginning" reissued today in the UK, but only on vinyl

One of Hubert Laws' masterpieces for the CTI label, "In The Beginning" is being reissued today in England, exclusively on vinyl format. Originally released in 1974 as 2-LP set under the catalog number CTX 3+3, the project also became available one year later, with different gatefold cover art and different cover pic by Pete Turner, under the title "Then There Was Light Vol.1" (CTI 6065) and "Then There Was Light Vol.2" (CTI 6066).

Now, instead of released as a 2-record set, these great albums are back in the market separately issued as "In The Beginning Vol.1" and "In The Beginning Vol.2." Oddly, using the same catalog numbers of "Then There Was Light"...!

Both volumes are already in stock on Juno Records (priced at £11.66) and can be ordered through this link:

Vol. 1 includes five tracks: Clare Fischer's "In The Beginning," Harold Blanchard's "Restoration," Eric Satie's "Gymnopedie" adapted by Bob James, the gospel hymn "Come Ye Disconsolate" and a superb Hubert Laws/Steve Gadd duo version of Sonny Rollins' "Airegin."

John Coltrane's "Moment's Notice" (featuring Hubert's brother, Ronnie Laws, on tenor sax), Rodgers Grant's ingenious "Reconciliation" and Laws' own delightful latin-bop tune "Mean Lene" are on the second volume.

Clare Fischer, Rodgers Grant and Bob James (acoustic piano & Fender Rhodes), Richard Tee (organ), Ron Carter (bass), Steve Gadd (drums), Airto Moreira (percussion), Dave Friedman (vibes), Gene Bertoncini (guitar) and Ronnie Laws (tenor sax) took part of the four recording sessions that took place at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in February 1974, produced by Creed Taylor of course. A string trio (David Nadien on violin, Emanuel Vardi on viola and George Ricci on cello) was recruited for "Gymnopedie" only.

No comments: