Friday, February 12, 2010

Box Set of the Day - "Jazz Ladies"

Box Set of the Day
“Jazz Ladies” - Warner 4-CD Set 50504665471 [Longbox] (2004)

Includes two tracks produced by Arnaldo DeSouteiro: "Serenade in Blue" and "Summer Samba," both performed by Ithamara Koorax

Project Manager & Compilation Producer: Adeline Rivas
Coordination: Pascal Bussy
Consultant: Uwe Hager
Liner notes by Philippe Blanchet & Sandy Scott.

Text from the back cover:
"The breakdown of boundaries between different musical genres at the turn of the last century, modified the rules of jazz. Open to influences of all kinds, jazz has welcomed music from the world over, enriching itself with new color, seeking out new ideas. Once again the female vocalists are leading protagonists of this metamorphosis. Some, like the Canadian Barbara Lewis, are exploring paths to a "new world fusion". Others, following in Flora Purim's footsteps, like the young virtuoso Brazilian singer Ithamara Koorax, blend samba-infused jazz with the electronic clicks of frenetic drum & bass. The tempo is changing. The instruments change too, sometimes. But the voice, the voice of the diva which instills jazz with a vital charge of "soul", seems more indispensable than ever..."

I Get A Kick Out Of You – Ella Fitzgerald
All of Me – Billie Holiday
How Long Has This Been Going On? – Sarah Vaughan
My Man – Abbey Lincoln
Nobody Else But Me – Barbara Lea
Moonlight In Vermont – Dorothy Ashby
When Your Lover Has Gone – Claire Austin
St. Louis Blues – “Sweet Ema” Barrett
Gee Baby, Ain’t It Good To Tou – Ruth Brown
Dearly Beloved – Chris Connor
Blues For Rampart Street – Ida Cox
Be Anything – Betty Everett
Summertime – Ella Fitzgerald
Lament of The Lonely – Honi Gordon
Sweet Georgia Brown – Alberta Hunter
Till There Was You – Etta Jones
Windmills of Your Mind – Barbara Lewis
Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe – Abbey Lincoln
Rude Awakening – Dorothy Moore
Rules of The Road – Anita O’Day
How Long Blues – Odetta
Light As A Feather – Flora Purim
Come Rain Or Come Shine – Betty Roche
The Jeep Is Jumpin’ – Hazel Scott
The Real Thing – Carol Sloane
I’m A Red Hot Mama – Victoria Spivey/Lonnie Johnson
Son of A Preacher Man – Mavis Staples
I’ll Never Stop Loving You – Carla Thomas
Vivo Sonhando – Sarah Vaughan
Stay With Me Baby – Shirley Brown
Don’t Go To Strangers – Etta Jones
He’s Got The Whole Word In His Hands – Odetta
Fine and Mellow – Ruth Brown
Dindi – Flora Purim
Person To Person – Mildred Anderson
Can’t Give You Anything But Love – Ella Fitzgerald
Serenade in Blue – Ithamara Koorax
Teri Thornton – What’s New?
A Foggy Day – Betty Roché
Baby Won’t You Please Come Home – Helen Humes
All The Things You Are – Sarah Vaughan and the Count Basie Orchestra
Let’s Face The Music and Dance – Chris Connor
How Insensitive – Sylvia Syms with Kenny Burrell
Shaking The Blues Away – Anita O’Day
Can’t Believe That You’re In Love with Me – Carol Sloane
Long Ago and Far Away – Bev Kelly
Come Rain or Come Shine – Claire Austin
Love Is Here To Stay – Helyne Stewart
Laugh, Clown, Laugh – Abbey Lincoln
That’s All There Is To That – Etta Jones
Fine and Mellow – Ruth Brown
Stormy Monday Blues – Billie Poole
Let’s Take The Long Way Home – Chris Connor
Street of Dreams – Ella Fitzgerald & Oscar Peterson
I’ve Got The World On A String – Sarah Vaughan
You’re Driving Me Crazy – Helen Humes
Billie’s Bounce – Betty Roché
My Old Flame – Teri Thornton
Meditation – Sylvia Syms with Kenny Burrell
Till The Clouds Roll By/Look For The Silver Lining – Ruth Price
Rules Of The Road – Anita O’Day
Summer Samba – Ithamara Koorax
Lover, Come Back To Me – Claire Austin
Exactly Like You – Abbey Lincoln
Easy Living – Etta Jones
Falling In Love with Love – Bev Kelly
Salty Papa Blues – Ruth Brown
Stormy Weather – Billie Poole
Early Autumn – Carol Sloane
Walkin’ – Honi Gordon
Mean To Me – Ella Fitzgerald & Oscar Peterson

Ella Fitzgerald – Vocal
Adeline Rivas – Project Manager, Compilation Producer
Pascal Bussy – Coordination
Oscar Peterson – Piano (Acoustic)
Ithamara Koorax – Vocal
Philippe Blanchet – Liner Notes
José Roberto Bertrami – Keyboards
Billie Holiday - Vocal
Alex Malheiros – Bass (Electric)
Barbara Lea – Vocal
Joe Henderson – Sax (Tenor)
Flora Purim – Vocal
Fatou Barry – Coordination
Stanley Clarke – Bass (Acoustic)
Ida Cox – Vocal
Ernie Hood – Zither
Betty Everett - Vocal
Mamão – Drums
Honi Gordon – Vocal
George Duke – Piano (Electric)
Sarah Vaughan – Vocal
Airto Moreira – Drums, Percussion
Alberta Hunter – Vocal
David Amaro – Guitar (Electric)
Barbara Lewis – Vocal
Jim Stern – Engineer
Hazel Scott – Piano (Acoustic)
Dorothy Ashby – Harp
Odetta – Vocal
Arnaldo DeSouteiro - Producer
Dorothy Moore – Vocal
Sandy Scott – Liner Notes
Mildred Anderson – Vocal
Orrin Keepnews - Producer
Lonnie Johnson – Guitar (Electric), Vocals
Carla Thomas – Vocal
Ted Streshimoky - Photography
Mavis Staples – Vocal
Victoria Spivey – Piano (Acoustic), Vocals
Norman Granz - Producer
Sylvia Syms – Vocal
Marcos Saboia - Engineer
Kenny Burrell – Guitar (Electric)
Betty Roché - Vocal
Joe Pass – Guitar (Electric)
Teri Thornton – Vocal
Rudy Van Gelder - Engineer
Tommy Flanagan – Piano (Acoustic)
Helen Humes - Vocal
Ray Brown – Bass (Acoustic)
Chris Connor – Vocal
Claudio Roditi – Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Paquito D’Rivera – Sax (Alto)
Anita O’Day - Vocal
Louie Bellson – Drums
Carol Sloane – Vocal
Phil Woods – Sax (Alto), Clarinet
Bev Kelly - Vocal
Clark Terry – Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Claire Austin - Vocal
Marcos Valle – Piano (Electric), Keyboards
Abbey Lincoln - Vocal
Jimmy Cobb – Drums
Etta Jones - Vocal
Jack McDuff – Organ
Ruth Brown - Vocal
Roy Haynes – Drums
Billie Poole - Vocal
Barney Kessel – Guitar (Electric)
Helyne Stewart – Vocal
Shelly Manne – Drums
Frank Rosolino – Trombone
Art Pepper – Sax (Alto)
Stanley Turrentine – Sax (Tenor)
Max Roach – Drums
Teddy Edwards – Sax (Tenor)
Philly Joe Jones – Drums
George Duvivier – Bass (Acoustic)
Christian Rose - Photography
Kenny Dorham – Trumpet
Richard Wyands – Piano (Acoustic)
Mickey Roker – Drums
Bucky Pizzarelli – Guitar (Acoustic)
Willie Rodriguez – Percussion
Jimmy Forrest – Sax (Tenor)
Ruth Price – Vocal
Azymuth – Performer
Bill Watrous – Trombone
Sonny Rollins – Sax (Tenor)
Joe Sample – Keyboards
Coleman Hawkins – Sax (Tenor)
Gene Page – Keyboards
David T. Walker – Guitar (Electric)
Jaki Byard – Piano (Acoustic)
Charles Mingus – Bass (Acoustic)
“Sweet Emma” Barrett – Vocal, Piano (Acoustic)
Booker T. Jones – Keyboards
Steve Cropper – Guitar (Electric)
Vic Dickenson – Trombone
Philippe Crocq - Consultant
Buck Clayton – Trumpet
Ahmed Abdul-Malik – Bass (Acoustic)
Dick Wellstood – Piano (Acoustic)
Herb Hall – Clarinet
Jasper Taylor – Drums
Uwe Hager - Consultant

No comments: