Thursday, March 19, 2009

Diana Krall's "Quiet Nights" on SHM-CD next week with bonus DVD! And its first videoclip!

Diana Krall's "Quiet Nights" album will have two different issues in Japan, on March 25. Besides the "normal" CD (catalog number UCCV 1123) on sale for ¥2,500, Universal Music K.K. will release also a limited issue on SHM-CD (cat. number UCCV 9371) for¥3,000. SHM-CD means "Super High Material CD" and involves a new technology of manufacturing. In Japan, it's already available for pre-order at HMV store in a special offer for ¥2,549.

The SHM-CD will include, along with the 13 tracks (12 tracks of the US issue scheduled for March 31 release on the Verve label plus the bonus track "I See Your Face Before Me"), an exclusive bonus DVD including the clip of the title song "Quiet Nights", filmed in Rio de Janeiro's Jardim Botânico (Botanic Garden) last October. Such DVD shall not be mistaken with the "Live in Rio" DVD, scheduled for release next May.

Watch the videoclip of Jobim's "Quiet Nights" (aka "Corcovado") in a new "dark" arrangement by German genius Claus Ogerman:

The high quality SHM-CD format features enhanced audio quality through the use of a special polycarbonate plastic. Using a process developed by JVC and Universal Music Japan discovered through the joint companies' research into LCD display manufacturing, SHM-CDs feature improved transparency on the data side of the disc, allowing for more accurate reading of CD data by the CD player laser head. SHM-CD format CDs are fully compatible with standard CD players.

Universal's original plan was that the US CD would include only 10 tracks, with "How Can You Mend A Broken Heart" and "Everytime We Say Goodbye" being saved for bonus tracks to the Asian markets. But the Verve executives changed their mind and decided to add those two tracks also to the US and Europe releases. "I See Your Face Before Me" was then offered to Universal Japan as a kind of "compensation."

This is the definitive tracklist:
1 Where Or When
2 Too Marvelous For Words
3 I've Grown Accustomed To His Face
4 The Boy From Ipanema
5 Walk On By
6 You're My Thrill
7 Este Seu Olhar
8 So Nice
9 Quiet Nights
10 Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry
11 How Can You Mend A Broken Heart
12 Every Time We Say Goodbye
Bonus Track for Japan:
I See Your Face Before Me


Disc 1
Disc 2

No comments: