Friday, March 6, 2009

Diana Krall's "Live in Rio" DVD tracklist and release date

Filmed on November 1st, 2008, at "Vivo Rio", the eagerly awaited new Diana Krall DVD, "Live in Rio", will be released in the USA and Europe next May 26 by Eagle Vision (catalog number 30273). In Japan, it will be distributed on May 27 by Columbia Music Entertainment in Japan (YMBA 10014). In Brazil, on June 6 by ST2. The tracklist has also been confirmed:
1 I Love Being Here With You
2 Let's Fall In Love
3 Where Or When
4 Too Marvellous For Words
5 I've Grown Accustomed To His Face
6 Walk On By
7 Frim Fram Sauce
8 Cheek To Cheek
9 You're My Thrill
10 Let's Face The Music And Dance
11 Every Time We Say Goodbye
12 So Nice
13 Quiet Nights
14 Este Seu Olhar
15 Boy From Ipanema
16 I Don't Know Enough About You
17 'S Wonderful
18 Exactly Like You
a) "Quiet Conversations" (interviews)
b) "The Boy from Ipanema" (videoclip)
c) "The Rooftop Sessions" with Carlos Lyra (bonus track only in the Japanese issue)

Diana's rhythm section (John Clayton, Jeff Hamilton, Anthony Wilson) is joined by Rio-born percussionist Paulinho da Costa and a local orchestra assembled by the São Paulo-based Maestro Ruriá Duprat, who conducted the original arrangements written by the German genius Claus Ogerman for the upcoming "Quiet Nights" CD (Verve), as well as some other scores previously penned by Ogerman and Johnny Mandel for other Krall albums.
"Quiet Nights" CD und "Live in Rio" DVD: Diana Krall im Bossa-Fieber

Gut zweieinhalb Jahre nach dem Erscheinen von "From This Moment On" wird Diana Krall unter dem Titel "Quiet Nights" erstmals wieder ein Album mit neuen Aufnahmen herausbringen. Die "Baby-Pause" nach der Geburt ihrer Zwillingssöhne Dexter Henry Lorcan und Frank Harlan James (am 6. Dezember 2006) hatte die kanadische Pianistin und Sängerin mit der Veröffentlichung der Compilation "The Very Best Of Diana Krall" überbrückt.

Wie der Titel Kennern schon verraten dürfte, ist "Quiet Nights" ein betont brasilianisches Album geworden, das neben klassischen Bossa Novas auch einige zu Bossas umfunktionierte Jazzstandards bietet. Ob Krall der Titel wohl in den Sinn kam, weil sie dank ihrer Sprösslinge zuletzt so wenige ruhige Nächte hatte.
Das "Quiet Nights" album erscheint am 27.03.2009.

No comments: