Thursday, March 19, 2015

Two albums by fusion cult band Caldera will be reissued on CD next week

Two albums by the LA-based fusion band Caldera will be reissued in Japan next Wednesday, March 25, as part of the "Fusion Crossover Ultimate Collection" prepared by Universal Music LLC. The multi-cultural group was formed in California in 1976 and recorded four critically acclaimed LPs for Capitol Records.

Their self-title debut album, "Caldera" (1976), features the original members -- keyboardist Eduardo Del Barrio, guitarist Jorge Strunz, reedman Steve Tavaglione, bassist Dean Cortez, drummer Carlos Vega and percussionist Mike 'Baiano' Azevedo -- plus guests Raul de Souza (the Brazilian trombone virtuoso), Robertinho Silva (Brazilian percussionist) and singer Carolyn Davis.

Their fourth and last project, "Dreamer" (1979), showcases the last incarnation of the group, with former Santana bassist Greg Lee, Weather Report-famed drummer Alex Acuña (born in Peru) and percussionist Luis Conte joining founding members Del Barrio, Strunz, Tavaglione and Azevedo.

No comments: