Saturday, September 11, 2010

CTI All Stars live at Montreux 2009 scheduled for release in November

While, in the USA, Sony Masterworks prepares to celebrate the 40th anniversary of CTI Records with a reissue series scheduled to start in October, Creed Taylor himself does the same in Japan! Besides the eagerly awaited release of the CTI All Stars reunion "Montreux Jazz Festival 2009," three compilations selected by the Japanese staff of Wax Poetics (a bi-monthly American magazine focused on all aspects of hip-hop, record collecting, and musical history) will be released next November 3rd.

The CTI Jazz All-Star Band concert filmed live in High Definition at the Montreux Jazz Festival on July 7, 2009, will finally hit the stores on November 3, distributed by King Records in nothing less than 3 formats: CD (CTI KICJ 593 with eight tracks and 65 minutes), DVD (KIBM 253) and Blu-ray (KIXM 49), with bonus material in the 82-minute video formats mixed by Rudy Van Gelder in 5.1 Dolby Digital.

The band line-up includes Hubert Laws, Randy Brecker, Bill Evans, Mark Egan, Jeff Watts, Airto Moreira, Russell Malone, Niels Lan Doky, Todd Bashore and special guests Flora Purim & Jamie Cullum. John McLaughlin & George Duke sat in with the band during the encores, appearing on Benny Golson's "Blues March."

Stanley Turrentine's CTI anthem "Sugar," Weldon Irvine's "Mr. Clean" (made famous on Freddie Hubbard's "Straight Life"), Hubert Laws' "Bimbe Blue", the gospel hymn "Amazing Grace" (also featuring Laws, who recorded it for CTI twice, on "Morning Star" and "The San Francisco Concert"), the Jamie Cullum tribute to Esther Phillips via Bill Withers' "Use Me" (covered by Esther on "Alone Again, Naturally"), Airto's "Misturada" and his legendary vocal/pandeiro solo (here titled "Brasil e África") are among the selected tracks. Wes Montgomery's "Road Song," featuring Russell Malone, appears as bonus track on the DVD and Blu-ray issues, both including a 12-page booklet.

To read detailed reviews of the Montreux concert, please check:
CTI オールスターズ 2009 モントルー・ライブ (2009 Montreux Live)
CD Tracklist:
1 ミスター・クリーン 2 シュガー 3 ミストゥラーダ 4 アメイジング・グレイス 5 Bimbe Blue 6 アフリカとブラジル 7 ユーズ・ミー 8 ブルース・マーチ
アイアート(PERC) トッド・バッショア(AS,BS) ランディ・ブレッカー(TP) マーク・イーガン(EL-B) ビル・エバンス(SS,TS) ニルス・ラン・ドーキー(P,KEY) ヒューバート・ロウズ(FL,PICC) ラッセル・マローン,(8)ジョン・マクフリン(G) ジェフ・ティン・ワッツ(DS) (3)フローラ・プリム,(7)ジェイミー・カラム(VO) (8)ジョージ・デューク(KEY)

CTI オールスターズ 2009モンBD
CTI オールスターズ 2009 モントルー・ライブ【Blu-ray Disc】
1971年のカリフォルニア・コンサートから40年近いときを経て、CTIオールスターズ大復活!2009年7月7日、スイス、モントルー・ジャズ・フェスティバルにて行われたCTIの創始者クリード・テイラーのプロデュースによる豪華ステージをBlu-ray Disc化。ジョージ・デューク、ジョン・マクラフリン、フローラ・プリム、ヒューバート・ロウズほかCTIの歴史を彩った豪華アーティストたちが集結し、CTIの歴史に残る名曲の数々をたっぷりと披露。さらにジェイミー・カラムといった新しい才能も加わり、ワクワクのライブ・パフォーマンスが繰り広げられた。上質のフュージョン・サウンドをたっぷりと味わえる1枚。
詳細情報監督 クリード・テイラー(プロデュース)
出演者 アイアート/ トッド・バショア/ ランディ・ブレッカー/ マーク・イーガン/ ビル・エバンス/ ヒューバート・ロウズ/ フローラ・プリム/ ジェイミー・カラム/ ジョン・マクラフリン/ ジョージ・デューク
映像特典 ■映像特典:ロード・ソング(スペイン、サン・ハビエルでのライブ)
色 カラー
画面 16:9/1080i HD
仕様他 Blu-ray Disc専用ソフト/片面一層
時間 69分
言語音声 リニアPCM(ステレオ)/DTS-HD(5.1chサラウンド)Master Audio/DD(5.1chサラウンド)

No comments: