Wednesday, September 7, 2016

The "CTI Supreme Collection 2" comes out today in Japan! 40 titles on Blu-Spec CDs!

The "CTI Supreme Collection, Part 2" is being released today in Japan, with 40 titles available on Blu-Spec CDs distributed by King Records.

This second batch includes six albums reissued on CD for the very first time:
- Claudio Roditi's "Red On Red" (with Kenia, Paquito D'Rivera, Jorge Dalto, Alfredo Cardim, Lincoln Goines. Yogi Horton, Buddy Williams, Naná Vasconcelos and Claudio Celso, the first digital recording by Rudy Van Gelder for CTI, back in 1984);
- Yusef Lateef's "In A Temple Garden" (featuring Jeremy Wall, Steve Gadd, Randy Brecker, Ray Barretto, Will Lee, Eric Gale, Sammy Figueroa and Suzane Cianni, the album got a 4-star review in DownBeat magazine at the time of its original release, in 1979);
- Fats Theus' "Black Out" (w/ Idris Muhammad, Chuck Rainey, Grant Green, Hilton Felton, including an amazing & unexpected soul-jazz version of Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Stone Flower");
- Hank Crawford's "Tico Rico" (arranged by David Matthews, with Steve Gadd, Jeremy Steig, Gary King, Eric Gale, Michael and Randy Brecker, featuring a gorgeous performance of the ballad "Teach Me Tonight");
- John Blair's "We Belong Together" (w/ David Matthews, Steve Gadd, Googie Coppola, Hiram Bullock, Clifford Carter, Hugh McCracken, Gary King, Ray Mantilla, Sue Evans);
- Stanley Turrentine's "The Sugar Man" (a fantastic out-takes collection with arrangements by Bob James, Don Sebesky, Chico O'Farrill, Deodato, featuring Kenny Burrell, George Benson, Ron Carter, João Palma, Dom Um Romão, Blue Mitchell, Harold Mabern, Rubens Bassini, Sivuca, Idris Muhammad, Billy Cobham; AT LONG LAST the CTI fans will be able to listen the original mix of "Pieces Of Dreams" that was destroyed when that track was remixed for inclusion on the CD reissue of Turrentine's "Don't Mess With Mr. T" album).

Among the 40 titles there are also the first CD reissues in Japan of Idris Muhammad's "Turn This Mutha Out" (a classic dancefloor jazz album which contains the disco hit "Could Heaven Ever Be Like This," written by David Matthews, who also produced & arranged the album, the only title in the entire series that wasn't produced by Creed Taylor, featuring Michael Brecker, Rubens Bassini, Hiram Bullock, Jeremy Steig and Cliff Carter) and Patti Austin's "Body Language" (with John Tropea, Michael Brecker, Joe Farrell), both previously available on digital format only in Europe.

There are also eagerly awaited new reissues of rare gems like David Matthews' "Dune," Don Sebesky's "The Rape of El Morro," Art Farmer's "Crawl Space," Joe Farrell's "Upon This Rock" and Johnny Hammond's "Breakout."

The complete list:
Airto: "Free"
Airto: "Virgin Land"
Art Farmer "Crawl Space"
Art Farmer with Yusef Lateef & David Matthews' Big Band: "Something You Got"
Claudio Roditi: "Red On Red"
David Matthews: "Dune"
Don Sebesky: "The Rape of El Morro"
Esther Phillips w/ Joe Beck: "What A Difference A Day Makes"
Esther Phillips w/ Joe Beck: "For All We Know"
Fats Theus: "Black Out"
Freddie Hubbard: "Sky Dive"
Freddie Hubbard: "First Light"
Freddie Hubbard: "Keep Your Soul Together"
Freddie Hubbard: "Polar AC"
Fuse One: "Silk"
Gabor Szabo: "Mizrab"
George Benson: "Body Talk"
George Benson: "Bad Benson"
Grant Green w/ Hubert Laws: "The Main Attraction"
Hank Crawford: "Wildflower"
Hank Crawford: "Tico Rico"
Hubert Laws: "Crying Song"
Idris Muhammad: "House of the Rising Sun"
Idris Muhammad: "Turn This Mutha Out"
Jackie Cain & Roy Kral: "A Wilder Alias"
Jeremy Steig: "Firefly"
Joe Farrell: "Moon Germs"
Joe Farrell: "Upon This Rock"
Joe Farrell: "Joe Farrell Quartet"
John Blair: "We Belong Together"
Johnny Hammond: "Breakout"
Johnny Hammond: "Higher Ground"
Lalo Schifrin: "Black Widow"
Milt Jackson: "Olinga"
Patti Austin: "Havana Candy"
Patti Austin: "Body Language"
Stanley Turrentine: "Salt Song"
Stanley Turrentine: "The Sugar Man"
Yusef Lateef: "In A Temple Garden"


Claudio Roditi『レッド・オン・レッド』
Fats Theus 、 Grant Green『ブラック・アウト』
Hank Crawford『ティコ・リコ』
John Blair『ウィー・ビロング・トゥゲザー』
Stanley Turrentine『ザ・シュガー・マン』
Yusef Lateef『テンプル・ガーデン』

Idris Muhammad『ターン・ディス・ムッタ・アウト』
Patti Austin『ボディ・ランゲージ』

Blu-spec CD

Bonus Gifts:

1 comment:

Burningbluesoul said...

Other than you good sir, I don't think anyone else can be happier about this batch of releases than I. Thanks for the post!