Saturday, April 26, 2014

CD/DVD Set of the Month - "Orquestra À Base de Sopro de Curitiba: Nossos Compositores"

CD/DVD Set of the Month
Orquestra À Base de Sopro de Curitiba: "Nossos Compositores" (Na Catêga) 2014

Another brilliant release by the OABS (Orquestra À Base de Sopro de Curitiba -- here under the direction of conductor Sergio Albach, a virtuoso clarinetist -- this amazing 2-disc set includes a CD (recorded "live" in a theater, but with no audience) and a DVD (this one, a real concert in another venue) with different tracklists, although most of the tunes appear in both discs. The title "Nossos Compositores" (Our Composers) refers to the fact that all tracks are striking originals, written specially for this project by the main composers from Curitiba's contemporary music scene, an extremely fascinating one.

It's the follow-up to "OABS & André Mehmari," a set that led these great musicians to be voted one of the four best Jazz Big Bands/Orchestras in the Jazz Station 2013 Poll. Due to the splendid performances, compositions and arrangements, it's almost impossible to elect the highlights, but my personal favorite tracks are: the flamboyant "Divertimento" and an infectious 7/4 samba titled "Brasis" (both composed & arranged by Osiel Fonseca), "Roubando Cachecóis" (dedicated by Mr. Albach to flutist Lea Freire), "Anatilde" (composed & arranged by woodwind player Gabriel Schwartz), Oliver Pellet's "Tempo Bom" (ingeniously scored by Glauco Solter, who is not a member of the OABS but develops a succesfull solo career), and Davi Sartori's "Seu Pascoal" (an hommage to my dear friend and guru Hermeto Pascoal).

Alto Sax – Victor Gabriel Castro
Alto Sax, Sopranino Sax, Tenor Sax – Gabriel Schwartz
Arranged By – Ale Age, Davi Sartori, Gabriel Schwartz, Glauco Solter, Luis Otávio Almeida, Marcelo Pereira, Osiel Fonseca
Bass Clarinet, Clarinet, Conductor, Liner Notes – Sergio Albach
Clarinets – Jacson Vieira, João William
Creative Director – Sergio Albach
Drums – Graciliano Zambonin
Electric Bass – Marcelo Pereira
Electric Guitar – Oliver Pellet
Flute – Maiara Moraes
Flute, Piccolo Flute – Sebastião Interlandi Junior
Mixed By, Mastered By – Diogo Poppi (CD), Dirceu Saggin (CD), Victor França (DVD)
Percussion – Denis Mariano, Iê Dos Santos
Piano, Keyboards – Davi Sartori
Tenor Sax – Douglas Soares, Sergio Freire
Trombone – Alexandre Santos, Osmário Estevam Júnior, Raule Alves, Rodrigo Vicaria Brasão
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Douglas Chiullo, Ozéias Veiga Da Costa
Video Editor, Film Director – João Marcelo Gomes
Graphics, Art Direction – Adriana Alegria
Recorded By – Beto Japa (CD), Dirceu Saggin (CD), Victor França (DVD)
Mixed By, Mastered By – Diogo Poppi (CD), Dirceu Saggin (CD), Victor França (DVD)
Photography By – Everson Zardo, Gabriel Schwartz

CD recorded @ Teatro da FEP (Curitiba, Paraná) on July 7, 8 & 9, 2008
DVD filmed @ UTFPR (Curitiba, Paraná) on August 24, 2009      

No comments: