Tuesday, September 24, 2013

3D Blu-ray of the Month - "Quincy Jones, Herbie Hancock & Co.: Experience Montreux"

3D Blu-ray of the Month (2-disc set)
Quincy Jones, Herbie Hancock & Co.: "Experience Montreux" (Eagle Vision)

Filmed in July 2010, released now in September 2013
Directed by David Barnard
Produced by Chris Kraft

Total Time: 206 mins
Disc 1: 86 minutes; Disc 2: 120 minutes
Video: 1080i High Definition Widescreen 16x9
Audio: LPCM Stereo, DTS-HD Master Audio

Filmed in High Definition 3D, this 2-disc set brings together the award-winning "Experience Montreux" film plus concert performances by Herbie Hancock and Quincy Jones, all filmed at the 44th Montreux Jazz Festival in 2010.

The first disc contains full live tracks by a range of artists that reflects the breadth and eclecticism of the Montreux Fest, featuring Massive Attack, Joe Bonamassa, Elvis Costello, Angelique Kidjo and many others. Their performances are interspersed with interviews with festival founder Claude Nobs and many of the artists involved and are accompanied by stunning footage of the festival setting, the town of Montreux, Lake Geneva and the Swiss Alps.

Quincy Jones and Herbie Hancock have both been frequent visitors to Montreux over the years and it's fitting that their performances form a part of this 3D celebration of the magic of the Montreux Jazz Festival. The highlights on Quincy's set are provided by the young Cuban piano virtuoso Alfredo Rodriguez (a splendid musician who became Quincy's protégé and shines even playing Happy Birthday!!!) and veteran Brazilian percussion master Paulinho da Costa, a longtime associate of Quincy who has performed in 99% of his productions since the late 70s, including all his solo albums and the Michael Jackson classic trilogy "Off The Wall," "Triology" and "Bad." Hancock's band features bassist Tal Winkenfeld, drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, and an astonishingly beautiful vocalist named Kristina Train, who sings a creative rendition of John Lennon's "Imagine."

Track Listing:
Disc One
1) Massive Attack: Risingson; 2) Sophie Hunger: Invisible; 3) Mumford & Sons Roll: Away Your Stone; 4) Angelique Kidjo: Saduva; 5) Martina Topley Bird: Sandpaper Kisses; 6) Yacht: The Afterlife; 7) Quincy Jones And The Global Gumbo All-Stars: Watermelon Man; 8) Broken Bells: The Ghost Inside; 9) Leszek Mozdzer: Fijo; 10) Nas & Damian Marley: As We Enter; 11) Elvis Costello: Slow Drag With Josephine; 12) Maccabees: Bag Of Bones; 13) Joe Bonamassa: Last Kiss; 14) Herbie Hancock: Chameleon; 15) Macadam Jazz Band: Bei Mir Bist Du Schön

Disc Two:
Part One - Quincy Jones And The Global Gumbo All-Stars
1) Bonatology 2) Eyala 3) Crossing The Border 4) Nonvignon 5) Paulinho da Costa Solo 6) Happy Birthday / Brokeback Concerto 7) Lullabye Of Birdland / Somewhere Over The Rainbow 8) Airmail Special 9) Watermelon Man
Line-up: Quincy Jones (musical director); Richard Bona (electric bass, vocals); Lionel Loueke (electric guitar, vocals); Alfredo Rodriguez (acoustic piano); Paulinho da Costa (percussion, congas, vocals); Francisco Mela (drums); Nikki Yanofsky (vocals)
With special guests: Greg Phillinganes (acoustic piano, keyboards); Herbie Hancock (keyboards)

Part Two - Herbie Hancock: The Imagine Project:
1) Actual Proof 2) Imagine 3) Seven Teens 4) Watermelon Man 5) Tamatant Tilay / Exodus 6) Court And Spark 7) Chameleon 8) Chameleon
Line-up: Herbie Hancock (acoustic piano, keyboards); Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Lionel Loueke (electric guitar); Greg Phillinganes (keyboards); Kristina Train (vocals); Tal Wilkenfeld (electric bass)

No comments: