Monday, December 20, 2010

João Gilberto's second solo album, "O Amor, O Sorriso e a Flor" to be reissued on CD

After the big success of the European CD release of João Gilberto's landmark debut album "Chega de Saudade," in January 2010 by the UK label Él, that same English company is now announcing the first CD reissue of Gilberto's second album for Odeon: "O Amor, O Sorriso e A Flor," recorded in 1960. As shown above, the Él logo and an English sub-title, "Love, A Smile and A Flower," were added to the original cover art.

The CD will be reissued in Europe on January 10, 2011 --with 23 bonus tracks (!) performed by other artists -- under the catalog number ACMEM201. Él is a division of the London-based Cherry Red Records Ltd., distributed in Europe by Pinnacle. Probably, the CD version of "O Amor, O Sorriso e A Flor" will soon be available also in Japan, released by the Solid Viper label, which achieved big sales with the "unofficial" CD release of "Chega de Saudade."

Here's the complete tracklist:
1. Samba de uma nota só (One Note Samba)
2. Doralice
3. Só em teus braços (Only In Your Arms)
4. Trevo de quatro folhas (I'm Looking Over a Four-Leaf Clover)
5. Se é tarde me perdoa (Forgive Me if It's Too Late)
6. Um abraço no Bonfá (A Hug for Bonfá)
7. Meditação (Meditation)
8. O pato (The Duck)
9. Corcovado
10. Discussão (Discussion)
11. Amor certinho (Certain Love)
12. Outra vez (One More Time)
Bonus tracks:
13. Outra vez (One More Time) - SERGIO MENDES
14. Ho-ba-la-la - SERGIO MENDES
15. Corcovado - SYLVIA TELLES
16. Ho-ba-la-la - SYLVIA TELLES
17. Samba de uma nota só (One Note Samba) - SYLVIA TELLES
18. O pato (The Duck) WALTER WANDERLEY
20. Aos pes da cruz (At the foot of the Cross) - MIKE FALCÃO
21. Samba de uma nota só (One Note Samba) - AGOSTINHO DOS SANTOS
22. Desafinado (Off-Key) - AGOSTINHO DOS SANTOS
23. Chega de saudade (No More Blues) - AGOSTINHO DOS SANTOS
24. Manhã de carnaval (Morning of the Carnival) - AGOSTINHO DOS SANTOS
25. A Felicidade (Happiness) - AGOSTINHO DOS SANTOS
26. A Felicidade (Happiness) - ORQUESTRA RIO DE JANEIRO
27. Discussão (Discussion) - ALAIDE COSTA
28. A Felicidade (Happiness) - MACIEL
30. É luxo só (It's Just a Luxury) - SILVIO SILVEIRA
31. Maria Ninguém (Maria Nobody) - CARLOS LYRA
32. Maria Ninguém (Maria Nobody) - HERALDO DO MONTE
33. Brigas nunca mais (Fights, Never More) - ORQUESTRA PAN AMERICAN with OS CARIOCAS
34. Chega de saudade (No More Blues) - ORQUESTRA PAN AMERICAN with OS CARIOCAS
35. Meditação (Meditation) - LUIZ EÇA & ASTOR SILVA

Prior to Gilberto's albums, Él had released some interesting compilations featuring Luiz Bonfá, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Laurindo Almeida, Carmen Miranda and, in the jazz field, Gary McFarland, Mel Tormé, Yusef Lateef, Cal Tjader, Ahmad Jamal, Gabor Szabo and Grady Tate, amongst others. They had also reissued albums by Jobim ("Sinfonia do Rio de Janeiro"), Nara Leão ("Nara '67"), Rogério Duprat ("A Banda Tropicalista do Duprat") and Rita Lee ("Build Up"), among other rarities such as the soundtrack to Brigitte Bardot's debut film, "And God Created Woman," featuring Brazilian percussionist extraordinaire Jadir de Castro.

Other Brazilian music CDs currently available on Él Records catalog: UK EL RECORDS から、2010年の1stアルバムに続き、ジョアン・ジルベルト・オリジナル音源CD復刻、待望の続編が登場。1960年の2ndアルバム(1~12曲目)に、アルバム収録と同曲の他アーティストによるレア・トラックスを含む全35曲を収録した、豪華仕様のオリジナル・ボサ・ノヴァ・レジェンダリー。ボサ・ノヴァ原点を知るマスター・ピース。

No comments: