Saturday, February 7, 2009

CD of the Day - "Gary McFarland: America The Beautiful"

CD of the Day
Gary McFarland: "America The Beautiful" (Skye) 1968/2004

One of McFarland's masterpieces, along with "The Gary McFarland Orchestra with Special Guest Soloist: Bill Evans" (Verve) and "October Suite" (with Steve Kuhn on Impulse!)
Liner notes by Executive Producer Norman Schwartz
Recorded in October 1968, featuring George Ricci (wonderful performances on cello), Chuck Rainey & Jerry Jemmott on bass, Bill Lavorgna & Bernard Purdie on drums, Warren Smith on percussion, Warren Bernhardt on piano, plus a horn section including Marvin Stamm, Randy Brecker, Jerome Richardson (who also assembled the orchestra), Hubert Laws, Ray Alonge, Jim Buffington, Earl Chapin, Snooky Young, Ernie Royal, Bernie Glow, Richard Williams, Harvey Phillips, Joe Farrell, Romeo Penque et al.

No comments: