Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Claus Ogerman's upcoming releases with Diana and Danilo

After a 22-year long long hiatus of the jazz scene, when he decided to concentrate on classical music after working on Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Terra Brasilis" back in 1979, Claus Ogerman made a triumphant comeback to the jazz world through Diana Krall's Grammy-winning album "The Look of Love". He also accepted to appear as a very special guest in the Diana Krall concert (at Paris Olympia) that yielded the fantastic "Live in Paris" DVD, on which Claus can be seen conducting two tunes ("'S Wonderful", "Love Letters").

Now, the many fans of the German genius will receive two great gifts in 2008: Claus' brilliant scores on the forthcoming albums by Krall and the Panama-born (and NY-based) pianist Danilo Perez, who rose to prominence as a member of Dizzy Gillespie's United Nation Orchestra. Both projects were produced by Tommy LiPuma and will be out soon on Verve.

Diana Krall's CD, tentatively titled "Where or When" or "Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars" (the definitive title has not been defined yet), is scheduled for release in November. Seventeen tracks were recorded and probably only twelve will be included on the CD. A few others will be used as bonus tracks exclusively, on special issues for Japan, Korea and China, where Diana will be touring next September/October. "Where or When" (inspired by Billy Eckstine's excellent version included on his "Momento Brasileiro" LP, never reissued on CD), "Then I'll Be Tired of You", "How Can You Mend A Broken Heart", "Walk on By", "Too Marvelous For Words" (one of Joao Donato's favorite songs), "You're My Thrill", "I've Grown Accustomed To Your Face", plus the bossa anthems "Summer Samba", "Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars", "Once I Loved" and "Girl from Ipanema" are among the songs recorded by Krall & Ogerman.
The Ogerman-Perez collaboration, titled "Across The Crystal Sea", scheduled for release on June 13 (in USA, Canada & Europe) and July 2, 2008 (Asia), includes the following tracks:
1- Across The Crystal Sea
2 - Rays And Shadows
3 - Lazy Afternoon
4 -The Purple Condor
5 - If I Forget You
6 - (All Of A Sudden) My Heart Sings
7 -The Saga Of Rita Joe
8 - Another Autumn

No comments: