Monday, August 31, 2009

Vinyl of the Day - "Chris Connor: New Again"

Vinyl of the Day
Chris Connor: "New Again" (Contemporary) 1988

Simultaneously released on both LP and CD formats, "New Again" was Chris' second (and last) album for the Contemporary label, then a subsidiary of Fantasy Records.
Recorded in August 1987, in NY, produced by Helen Keane (assisted by Barbara Borden), with Lori Muscarelle credited as executive producer.
Features keyboardists/arrangers Richard Rodney Bennett & Mike Abene, bassist Michael Moore, drummer Buddy Williams, percussionist Sammy Figueroa and the horns of Claudio Roditi (trumpet & flugelhorn), Billo Kirschner (tenor, alto & soprano saxophones plus flute & clarinet), and Dave Valentin (flute).
Highlights: "Dearly Beloved," a silky version of Michael Franks' bossa nova "Down in Brazil" (originally dedicated to João Donato when recorded a decade earlier by Franks with Donato himself, João Palma, Helio Delmiro, Wilton Felder & Larry Carlton for the "Sleeping Gypsy" masterpiece), "Antonio's Song" (another bossa by Michael Franks from that same album, but dedicated to Antonio Carlos Jobim), "Mad About The Boy," "I Wish I'd Met You" and the "Jukebox Medley."

No comments: