Friday, October 18, 2013

SHM-CD of the Month - "Charles Mingus: The Black Saint and The Sinner Lady"

SHM-CD of the Month
Charles Mingus: "The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady" (Impulse!/Universal Japan)

Produced by Bob Thiele
Engineered by Bob Simpson
Cover & Liner Photos: Bob Ghiraldini
Album Design: Joe Lebow

Featuring: Charles Mingus (acoustic bass, acoustic piano), Jaki Byard (acoustic piano), Dannie Richmond (drums), Jay Berliner (acoustic guitar), Jerome Richardson (soprano & baritone saxes, flute), Charlie Mariano (alto sax), Dick Hafer (tenor sax & flute), Rolf Ericson & Richard Williams (trumpets), Quentin Jackson (trombone) and Don Butterfield (tuba & contrabass trombone).

* Japanese-only limited edition SHM-CD.
* Digitally remastered with superior sound quality.
* Complete obi-strip & Japanese introductory/lyrics sheets included.
* SHM-CD (Super High Material CD), fully compatible with standard CD players, enables greater transparency, more open sound, lower distortion and better resolution that leads to more sound details.
* SHM-CD achieves higher quality audio through the use of a polycarbonate plastic with improved transparency derived from LCD display manufacturing technologies.
黒い聖者と罪ある女 [SHM-CD]/ チャールズ・ミンガス

[JAZZ THE BEST More 100] 人呼んで“エスニック・フォーク-ダンス・ミュージック”。哲人ミンガスが、ベーシスト/作編曲家としての才能を存分に発揮した空前絶後のオーケストラ作品。 <パーソネル> チャールス・ミンガス (b, p)、リチャード・ウィリアムス (tp)、クエンティン・ジャクソン (tb)、ドン・バターフィールド (tuba)、ジェローム・リチャードソン (ss, bs, fl)、チャーリー・マリアーノ (as)、ジャッキー・バイアード (p)、ダニー・リッチモンド (ds)、他 ●1963年1月20日、ニューヨークにて録音 ●可能な限りニュー・マスターを使用 ●ルビジウム・カッティングを採用 ●ブックレットには新規書き下ろしライナー収録

No comments: