Thursday, April 1, 2010

Vocal CD of the Month - "Diana Krall: Quiet Nights" - Deluxe Edition with Bonus DVD

Vocal CD of the Month
Diana Krall: "Quiet Nights - Deluxe Edition" (Verve)

This is the fourth issue of "Quiet Nights" in my collection. The difference between the previous American, Japanese (on SHM-CD and with a haunting bonus track specially for Asian markets, "I See Your Face Before Me," another stunning arrangement by Claus Ogerman) and European releases, consists in the excellent bonus DVD included on this 2-disc set deluxe edition.

Seven of the eight sings on the DVD were filmed on May 29, 2009, at ORCAM's Auditorium in Madrid, Spain, when Karriem Riggins (drums) and Robert Hurst (bass) had already replaced Jeff Hamilton and John Clayton on Diana's quartet during the "Quiet Nights World Tour," with Anthony Wilson still on the guitar. They play excellent versions of "I Love Being Here With You," "Boy from Ipanema," "Exactly Like You," "You're My Thrill" (the highlight), "I Don't Know Enough About You" and "Let's Fall in Love".

The last number comes from Elvis Costello's "Spectacle" TV series, with Diana joining her husband and pop star Elton John for a nice version of "Makin' Whoopee," with Christian McBride on bass & Karriem Riggins on drums.

Needless to say, on the CD disc, it's always a pleasure to re-listen over and over again to the wonderful performances of "I've Grown Accustomed to Your Face," "Too Marvelous For Words," "Walk on By" and "Where or When."

No comments: